Go Back   QDMA Forums > Habitat Management > Native Habitat/Forest Management

Old 07-19-2013, 02:37 PM

Default Fertilizing apple trees

Fertilizing apple trees. I have a bunch of apple trees on the property and would like to try to fertilize them. what NKP formulation do you guys use with trees? Have read that using too much N is not a good idea. What time of year do you apply it and how (tree spikes, dig holes at drip line).
Old 07-19-2013, 08:34 PM
QDMA Member

I think the first year, you stay away from it, from what I read.

After that, 1lb per 1inch caliper....I think??? Spread evenly around the dripline....again I believe. I am no pro here.

I think if you do an advanced search for fertilizer threads, there are a couple.
Old 07-19-2013, 08:50 PM
QDMA Member

Here's one of the threads: http://www.qdma.com/forums/showthrea...ple+fertilizer

Maya posted a link to this article: http://ohioline.osu.edu/hyg-fact/1000/1401.html

Basically, the article recommends .25 pounds of 10-6-4 per year the three has been planted, up to 10 years old. That assumes the tree isn't planted in sod (i.e, you're using Lumite, plastic, or some other technique to keep the ground clear of vegetation around the base of the tree).
Old 07-19-2013, 09:18 PM

trees were planted between four and ten years ago. Some are pretty good sized. The property is woodland and very far north so they grow very slowly. I had my first flowers on the ten year old trees this year. I was looking to fertilize to add more nutrients to help speed things along if possible.
Old 07-19-2013, 09:57 PM
QDMA Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by lionfan19 View Post
trees were planted between four and ten years ago. Some are pretty good sized. The property is woodland and very far north so they grow very slowly. I had my first flowers on the ten year old trees this year. I was looking to fertilize to add more nutrients to help speed things along if possible.