Go Back   QDMA Forums > Habitat Management > Food Plots for Whitetails

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2013, 07:15 PM
Hoosier Boy's Avatar
Hoosier Boy Hoosier Boy is offline
QDMA Life Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Greene County (SW), Indiana
Posts: 159
Default Is there a handheld GPS that calculates acreage?

Looking for a handheld gps that I can walk the permiter of my plots and have it calculate the acreage. Any suggestions? I have seen and have used some of the manual methods of measuring the sf and calculating but just seeing if there is an affordable handheld. thanks!
__________________
QDMA Life Member and Appreciator of All Things Foodplot Related
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2013, 08:26 PM
hooks hooks is offline
QDMA Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 59
Default

garmin 62st will calculate down to hundredths of an acre
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2013, 08:33 PM
Roger Roger is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 565
Default

Measure map for the iPhone.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2013, 08:42 PM
driver79's Avatar
driver79 driver79 is offline
QDMA Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wausau, Wisconsin
Posts: 101
Default

My Garmin Rhino 655t does.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2013, 08:46 PM
jack23's Avatar
jack23 jack23 is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: West Virginia hunt SE Ohio
Posts: 920
Default

try googleplanimeter, from my experience it is very accurate
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2013, 09:39 PM
Hoosier Boy's Avatar
Hoosier Boy Hoosier Boy is offline
QDMA Life Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Greene County (SW), Indiana
Posts: 159
Default

WOW!!!! Jack, thank you for the googleplanimeter lead. I had never heard of it and just checked it out. I am VERY glad I did. I was overestimating the size of some of my plots. I even doubted the tool a little and tried to trick it by measuring different ways...no change. Finally, I did the entire perimeter of my property, which is very odd shaped. I was within 2 acres on my 140 acre farm of the actual surveyed stated acreage....VERY cool. I love this forum for exactly THIS reason. Thanks so much for saving me the $'s...this tool is all I needed.

John
__________________
QDMA Life Member and Appreciator of All Things Foodplot Related
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2013, 10:18 PM
criggster criggster is offline
QDMA Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 2,914
Default

I can attest that google planimeter is very accurate. I measured my plot with a hand-held GPS, the planimeter, and a no till drill with acreage gauge. All three said 2.0 acres!
__________________
Leave only footprints, and a bloodtrail!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2013, 10:49 PM
welka welka is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 515
Default

Save yourself the cash and use your feet. 70x70 steps is an acre and you can split it up any way as long as it equals same area ( i.e 140x35). Usually close enough for food plotters! Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2013, 12:41 PM
ProcraftMike ProcraftMike is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 309
Default

I use a rangefinder to help calculate mine. Works good, especially with the smaller plots.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-26-2013, 12:50 PM
Lot2Learn Lot2Learn is offline
QDMA Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Virginia, Zone 7a
Posts: 243
Default

I found this page of older garmin models (many available on eBay pretty cheap) that calculate acreage of a closed loop: http://gpsinformation.net/areacalc.htm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.