Go Back   QDMA Forums > Habitat Management > Food Plots for Whitetails

Old 06-06-2006, 07:35 AM

Exclamation Liquid Lime

I have access to a lot of liquid lime, the price is right free, but I have never tried it before. If anyone has how did it work for you?
Old 06-06-2006, 08:35 AM

I bought 4 gals of the new pH Gain. I used 2 gal in Ohio but have not taken soil tests to see how fast it works. I talked to a pH Gain rep before I bought it. It has to be sprayed on bare soil and disc in to get max effect. Any vegetation reduces the effectiveness as does not working it in soil. The rep said it does all it pH correction in 72 hours. Also said it has no buffer capacity (like lime slowly dissolves and takes longer to work but lasts long). Liquid lime doesn't continue to work and pH slowly drops, need to apply every year.

To me this product is good on a new plot to get a quick pH adjustment but you also need to apply regular lime also.
Old 06-06-2006, 09:16 AM
QDMA Member

The liquid lime is intended to "trick" the plant rather than amend the soil. I have been sampling various fields and pulled soil samples prior and during growth. All tests indicated that the ph was not increased. Meaning, the plants are being tricked into thinking they are in an ammended environment.

These have been my tests but certainly will vary from person to person. However, my understanding from a chemist is that it will not ammend the soil and yes, like regular liming, it needs to be applied yearly.

Banc123 has been testing also and I am sure he will share his results on this topic. The liquid lime is very interesting, to say the least, and could play a big role on food plotin' in the future.

Want daily food plot tips and photos in your Facebook News Feed? LIKE our Facebook Page
Old 06-06-2006, 01:50 PM

Any of you guys have the names and places you can get this stuff. I would also like to read more about this stuff. web sites would be good. Thanks Ed