Go Back   QDMA Forums > Habitat Management > Native Habitat/Forest Management

Old 06-30-2010, 08:28 PM
QDMA Member

Default Sawtooth Oak - Invasive?

Sawtooth oaks... are they invasive? Have some started in seed pots and then found this, not sure if it's valid or extreme:

http://www.invasive.org/species/subject.cfm?sub=10086
Old 06-30-2010, 08:33 PM
Banned

That will depend on who you ask

I have no experience with them due to their lack of winter hardiness so I can't give you any firsthand info.

I'm sure some other folks will though
Old 06-30-2010, 08:41 PM

From what I gather, sawtooths do VERY well in the south and not so well up in my area. Some people have some that are 12 years old that have not dropped an acorn yet. There are some in town on a conservation area that have very few every year I have checked them.

IMO,

Plant some native hybrid oaks, dwarf chinkapins or some other native so you never have to worry about them being invasive.
Zone 5B
"When a hunter is in a tree stand with high moral values and with the proper hunting ethics and richer for the experience, that hunter is 20 feet closer to God." Fred Bear
Old 07-01-2010, 08:16 AM

No they are not. I challenge anybody to try to make them so. Get a bag of 50 acorns, walk around and plant them, and then set back and see what happens. If you get one to survive, you'll be lucky. They have to be "babied" just like any other tree in their young years. However, even with that, they are not tolerant of shade like native trees are. Plant them in shade and you'll never get them to survive.
Old 07-01-2010, 02:13 PM