Go Back   QDMA Forums > Habitat Management > Food Plots for Whitetails

Old 03-09-2009, 12:35 PM

Default Home made drag harrow

I am new to planting and maintaining food plots and have read quite a bit of helpful info on the basics. The landowner of the property I will be hunting has a tractor, disc harrow bushhog and root rake. He only wants to plant cool seaon plots of wheat, rye, clover. Based on my research we will need something to level and firm the plot after discing. I am considering building a drag harrow using chain link fence (8' long x 4' wide) with 4' length of 3-4" metal pipe filled with concrete attached to the tail with U bolts. Another 4' length of pipe will be U bolted to the front with a sufficient length of cable attached to the ends for hooking to the tractor when pulling. Anything I should add or change about this design? The drag harrows I have seen have prongs portruding on one side. How could I add something like this to my design? Additinal U bolts?

Also, would it be beneficial to pull the root rake through the disced plots prior to dragging?

These are all existing plots that have planted each fall for the past 5 years by another individual with his own equipment.

Thanks for your suggesitions!

Last edited by 2dawoodz : 03-09-2009 at 12:37 PM.
Old 03-09-2009, 12:51 PM

If you have access to a welder you can make small hooks from 1/8 in cold roll. Starting with 8in long piece bend it over in the middle. Than weld the two legs together one inch from the bend. Now spread the two legs out at 20 to 30 degree and bend both legs down You will need to make several of theses. to attach to the chain link open the eye at the bended end and use heavy tie wire to lace to the fence.
Old 03-09-2009, 08:29 PM
QDMA Member