Go Back   QDMA Forums > General QDM > Resources/FAQ (read only)

Old 01-18-2009, 07:55 PM
Moderator Sponsor Member

Default Planting Round Up Ready Soybeans and Corn, By foodplotdude

OUTDOOR ESSENTIALS

I have received a ton of pm's and emails over the last couple weeks with regards to the infamous rr corn/bean mix. So, I have put together a set of pictures with explanations and am posting here on the forum. I hope this is helpful for some of you that are venturing into this for the first time.

MINIMUM 300lbs triple 19 per acre but in most cases I use 400-425lbs per acre

For starters, it all begins with good quality seed. I cannot tell you how excited I am about Brad's(Eagle Seed) RR Forage Soybeans! I have been planting this mix with conventional soybeans for many years and ever since my planter gots it plates on Eagle Seed, it has thrown no other soybean since. The rr corn I use is from Dekalb and it is a BT Corn Borer variety with poncho coating. In many cases, insects and disease are far worse than deer browsing and I would not dare put seed in the ground here in my area without it. I also treat the entire mix with Latitude prior to planting. This gives the soybean the protection it needs and boosts the corns protection a bit too.

For this particular planting I am using a 110 day RR Corn and Eagle Seed RR Wildlife Managers Mix which has the vining rr soybean(whitetail thicket), Large Ladd, Big Fellow and a group 3 forage bean for filler. I am using a 3 row Yetter Flex 71 planter unit on 3 point