PDA

View Full Version : Basswood Trees?

darkhollow1
10-14-2006, 09:53 PM
I am kind of new to TSI which a timber buyer introduced to me last Fall. I have done a fair amount of research and from what I have gathered Basswoods are considered cull trees to most. I mentioned eliminating a fair amount of Basswoods in my timber to the same buyer today and he did not recommend doing so. He seemed to think that there may be value to them at some point and it would be a good idea to hang on to them? I personally feel that they should be eliminated to promote more Oak variety. How do you all feel about Basswoods? Is there a valuable future for them? Would you or have you eliminated them on your property? Thanks A Lot!

kodiakswitchback
10-14-2006, 10:02 PM
I never thought there was much of a market for basswood atleast in our area except for pulpwood. I may be wrong

Side Hill Growler
10-14-2006, 11:57 PM
Basswood is soft. Wood carvers use it.

HabitatMD
10-15-2006, 12:40 AM
I think some window blinds are made from basswood. If they are somewhat big and straight, I'd get rid of them in the next sale. I'd kill 'em, they don't do me personally much good.

pinwheel
10-15-2006, 07:13 AM
Really depends on what your goals are. There is a market for them from a loggers point of view. As mentioned before, wood carvers use basswood. It's classified as a softwood, but it has a tight consistant grain.

As a softwood, they will grow fast creating cover. Not all trees need to be fruit or nut bearing to have value to wildlife. I've got a lot of river birch in certain areas of my property. They have little market value. I won't cull them because they mostly grow next to my creek to offer bank stabilization, they grow fast & they look cool.

Silver maple has always been considered a junk tree in this area. Now, it has definately found a market with the saw mills & timber buyers.