PDA

View Full Version : Michigan DNRE is researching Statewide APR's

big woods hunter
10-20-2010, 01:17 PM
The Michigan DNRE has form a workgroup of Hunting Organizations and Private Citizen's to research and formulate a gameplan for implementing Statewide Antler Point Restriction's for 2011.

Just wondering what everyone's thought's are about APR's and it's efectiveness as a managment tool?

I'm new to the QDMA principles and practices. I am trying to learn as much as I can to feel in my own mind as educated as I possibly can.
With that said, I have been practicing my own "voluntary" APR's for about the last 4 sesons now. It was difficult at first but now has become extremely enjoyable watching the younger bucks live a little longer.

One other question. Since I am a public land hunter 98% of the time...do you feel APR's will benefit the private land or public land hunter more? Or both?

Thanks for any input...I want to make the best educated vote I can if it comes down to that.

Munsterlndr
10-20-2010, 02:55 PM
Just a minor correction, the purpose of the workgroup that has been established is to review and make recommendations to the NRC (Natural Resources Commission) for how the process should work for private organizations petitioning the NRC for implementing APR's in specific Deer Management Units. As far as I know the NRC has no plan to implement APR's Statewide any time soon in Michigan, certainly not in 2011.

The proposal that has been made by the Northwest Chapter of QDMA, would be to implement APR's into 12 counties (DMU's) in the Northwestern Lower Peninsula. Currently 1 Co. in the NWLP has APR's in place. There is currently a moratorium on new APR proposals in Michigan, which will continue until the NRC comes up with new guidelines for how the process will work, which is the purpose of the workgroup mentioned above, to come up with a recommendation on this issue for the NRC. The process should be complete by next June at the latest.

soggybtmboys