PDA

View Full Version : pistol storage while in and out of Canada

BillBowhunter
06-15-2010, 12:22 AM
I'm going to the Canadian Rockies this summer and wonder if anyone has an idea on where I can store my carry pistol for a week or so until I come back to the USA? Entering Canada in the vacinity of Glacier Nation Park.

Tap
06-15-2010, 06:30 AM
You may want to check with a gun store on the U.S. side. Maybe they will hold it for you.
I could be wrong, but I don't think you can possess a handgun in Canada...Period. A few years ago we took the Alaska Marine Ferry from Washington to Alaska, and was told we couldn't even have a pistol on the boat because we would be in Canadian waters.
Thank God for our Bill of Rights!

Bobby
06-15-2010, 10:34 AM
Us Canadians don't have much for options when it comes to legal hand gun use. As a resident I must have a special license/course to have one, it must be kept with multiple locks in your home, and if you plan to take it anywhere it must be to an approved firing range. Even to get to that range you have to make prior arrangements to trasport it for that time of the day directly to the range and back. Needless to say I've never bought one....

Dogwood
06-15-2010, 10:52 AM
Needless to say I've never bought one....

Point and case. Too many restrictions will deter most any law abiding citizen from exercizing their rights.

Bob S
06-15-2010, 02:07 PM
A suggestion I read on a gun forum one time. Stop at a bank on the US side before leaving the country and get a safe deposit box for your "valuables" for the time period you will be out across the boarder.

I think this was suggested for someone crossing the border on a regular basis and could keep the safe deposit box indefinitely. I don't know if a bank will issue a box for a week or two.

cblackburn13
06-15-2010, 02:18 PM
Even if they don't do a week or two they are cheap. Get one and then cancel. It's worth chekcing out.

lone cedar farm
06-15-2010, 02:31 PM