PDA

View Full Version : Native Prairie Seeding

Loess Hills
12-04-2009, 06:18 PM
I am new to QDMA and need some advice. I live in NW Iowa in the Loess Hills where there is lots of natural pairie left. I purchased 25 acres of timber here 3 years ago. It is mostly Oaks, Elms, Cedar, Dogwood and Summack. I had a machine come in and clear about 4 acres of the nuisance trees and left the Oaks. It left a nice open area for me to plant prairie in. I then cleared the remnants of shredded trees etc with a skid loader, scraping the top of the ground. there was some standing wild grass growing in the brush before it was cleared. I think it may be bluegrass. After I cleared the remnants of shredded trees I drug the ground with a small drag and broadcast a mixture of the wildprairie that grows out here. I got the seed from my neighbor who is a botonist and harvests his prairie with a combine. It is a mixture of Indian and big bluestem etc. I did the seeding on Nov 30th. I wish I would have known about this site before hand, as I would have sprayed the existing grass that had existed there with roundup before my planting. My question is for someone familiar with Iowa weather, zone 4. Can I spray the grass that had been growing in the area this spring when it comes back up, before my new seeding comes up? Also what should I use, roundup? And when would be the best time to spray it as far as date? Also should I lightly drag the new seed I just sowed? thanks alot
Paul

brushpile
12-04-2009, 07:45 PM
I am living in MO, but lived in Central Iowa for many years. Dogwoods are good trees to keep. Your NWSG planting can be sprayed with glyphosphate in the Spring, before the NWSG grows. I would say late April would be a good time, depending on the weather. This post will bump you to the top, where Lickcreek might see it. He is the Iowa pro on NWSG, so take heed of what he says.

Younghunter
12-04-2009, 08:25 PM
Welcome to the site, it's a great resource!