PDA

View Full Version : Red clover?

beagler
06-30-2009, 12:00 AM
Excuse my ignorance, but I'm still a newbie:o I frost seeded Alta Swede Mammoth Red clover this winter. Since it is an annual, or what some call a single cut clover, does that mean it will die off after it is mowed? If not, how long can I expect to have it in my field?

mod15
06-30-2009, 12:15 AM
I have red clover going on it's 3rd year right now. It is still going strong. I plan to bale it this week let it grow back then plow it under in time to sow wheat in the plot then alfalfa in the spring. I am not sure how long it will last but I let it go to seed last summer then mowed it. My plot had its best stand the 2nd and 3rd year. It is just the cheap red clover nothing fancy or anything.

It will not die off after you mow it, I mowed mine one time the first year then twice the second. due to all of the rain that we have had I have not cut mine this year yet.

M.Magis
06-30-2009, 06:51 AM
I don't think mod15 understood the question, or I didn't understand his response. Not all red clover is the same.
It won't die after cutting, but recovery is slow and typically only one cutting can be had per year. It's not an annual, but rather a perennial with slow recovery.

Lickcreek
06-30-2009, 06:54 AM
I don't think mod15 understood the question. It won't die after cutting, but recovery is slow and typically only one cutting can be had per year. It's not an annual, but rather a perennial with slow recovery.

You got it ;)

That particular clover is not meant to be long lived and might not last more then 2-3 years while some varieties of red clover may last 3-4 years and most will have heavier growth then Alta-Swede requiring 3-5 clippings per summer. :)

beagler
06-30-2009, 11:36 AM