PDA

View Full Version : Small Plots

Richard
04-06-2009, 06:51 AM
I am very new to the Food Plots. I am planning on putting in a few small food plots, 20 x 20. I plan was to use Secret Spot and mix in turnips and maybe some clover. I am located in Frederick, MD. I dont have access to any equipment, so it will be all just plain old hardwork. I am looking to plant in the late summer Aug/Sept. Any suggetions or advise would be great. Also any recommendations on where to buy everything would also help. Thanks for all the help.

tractorg25
04-06-2009, 07:45 AM
sounds like you are wanting to make a hunting plot? The clover and turnips are good late season. Take some soil sample so you will know how much lime and fertilizer to use. That size plot can be done using only hand tools. If you can find one a fire rake is very useful. You can buy them from Ben Medows or Forestry Suppliers. Also a good round point shovel and Hoe . You can use the Earthway bag spreader to broad cast lime, fertlizer and seed. Good luck on your plots.

Tioga Tines
04-06-2009, 08:40 AM
20 x 20 is a fairly small plot, as I am sure you know. Start by doing a soil test on each plot, as posted above. The report will tell you exactly what each needs regarding lime and fertilizer.
When you are ready to start:
Mow the area then wait a week for growth to start. Spray with RoundUp. You can easily do a 20x20 plot with a 1 or 2 gallon hand sprayer. Wait 2 weeks for the Roundup to work.
Then use a string trimmer (weed wacker) to mow it down to the dirt. Rake off clippings.
Use a roto-tiller to till the ground (these can be rented).
Rake smooth, broadcast seed, tamp firm.
This will get you growing.
The next matter will be how to keep the deer out, until the plot is established. Good luck!

jake
04-06-2009, 07:56 PM
i did the same thing as you last year. Here is what i did.

Well i had the 15x30 foot plot worked up in the spring as i planted some Throw and Grow from evovled harvest.